1/24/17

The Bone Witch - by Rin Chupeco

The Bone Witch is a young adult fantasy novel that is the first in a series by Rin Chupeco. The book is about a young girl, Tea, that discovers she is a bone witch, a kind of witch that can raise the dead. The entire book is about Tea's journey to become an asha, from how she discovers she has the ability to be a bone witch to her through her entire training process. The book takes place in the present and the past, mostly in the past. The present is told in very short bursts and doesn't add to the story. It moves at an unbelievable slow pace. We learn almost everything about the world of an asha but we learn nothing of Tea's current predicament. The entire time reading, I am patiently waiting for an answer to my only question only to be left with another surprise and no answers. It felt like I just read a 400 page prologue. For parents wondering if this is a book for their young adult reader, I think this book would be appropriate for readers as young as middle school.






From the books blurb:

In the captivating start to a new, darkly lyrical fantasy series for readers of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir, Tea can raise the dead, but resurrection comes at a price...
Let me be clear: I never intended to raise my brother from his grave, though he may claim otherwise. If there’s anything I’ve learned from him in the years since, it’s that the dead hide truths as well as the living.
When Tea accidentally resurrects her brother from the dead, she learns she is different from the other witches in her family. Her gift for necromancy means that she’s a bone witch, a title that makes her feared and ostracized by her community. But Tea finds solace and guidance with an older, wiser bone witch, who takes Tea and her brother to another land for training.
In her new home, Tea puts all her energy into becoming an asha—one who can wield elemental magic. But dark forces are approaching quickly, and in the face of danger, Tea will have to overcome her obstacles…and make a powerful choice.
Memoirs of a Geisha meets The Name of the Wind in this brilliant new fantasy series by Rin Chupeco!



I received a advance copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.





1/16/17

All Our Wrong Todays - by Elan Mastai

All Our Wrong Todays is a really fun time-travel story. It isn't the typical time-travel novel with people jumping back and forth through various time periods. Tom is from a futuristic 2016 and gets stranded in our 2016 due to a time-travel mishap to 1965 that altered the future, Tom's future.Tom is torn between saving the future and all the people that never exist in this new reality but that would mean losing people he cares about in this new reality as well. It's a story of fate, love, family, and loss. The entire story is told from Tom's point of view. He is usually speaking to the reader. There is science but it doesn't make your head spin and cause your eyes to glaze over. I found the book to be a fast paced and enjoyable read. I wouldn't be surprised if this book becomes a movie.




I received an advance copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

1/9/17

Little Heaven - by Nick Cutter

So I basically cut my teeth on Stephen King, John Saul, and Dean Koontz back in the day. It is difficult to find some good horror novels especially ones that bring me back to those favorites I read in the 80's. I think I found just that in Nick Cutter's Little Heaven.

Three pay-for-hire types take a simple job, check on a woman's nephew whose father has taken him to live in a sanctuary in the middle of no where called Little Heaven. We all know that nothing is ever simple.

I was expecting your typical slasher type horror story but I got something better. There is actually some decent character development and the story takes you full circle.

Little Heaven is the first Nick Cutter book I have read and it won't be my last. I was pleasantly surprised at how Little Heaven brought me back to my youth and 80's horror fiction and how much I miss those old familiar books. There were a few places that I found my attention wandering but overall I quite I enjoyed the story and the path it took. Anyone who is a fan of 80's horror and Stephen King will want to read this book.





I received a copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.


1/2/17

Earth Abides - by George R. Stewart

Earth Abides - by George R. Stewart

My rating - 3 stars

I had joined an old book challenge last year and I thought I had finished the challenge. I realized I had four more decades of books for read near the end of November! So I have been on a mission to finish up the challenge before the end of 2016. I managed to finish the challenge by reading The Lost Continent, A Christmas Carol, The Call of the Wild, and Earth Abides.

Earth Abides is an apocalyptic story written in 1949 by George R. Stewart. The story is told by Ish, who was a graduate student, that survives a great plague that almost destroys the entire human race. 

Earth Abides is considered a classic tale of the apocalypse and I feel like I should be giving this book four or five stars instead of three. Especially since supposedly Earth Abides was the inspiration for Stephen King's The Stand (one of my favorite books). For me though, this story just dragged on and there was a lot of repetition by the main character of ideas and observations. The entire book is from Ish's viewpoint.  It isn't your typical book about the apocalypse with a lot of action and fight scenes. In fact, there aren't any fight scenes or action. It is a slow moving story that spans probably 40 years. Ish was a graduate student at the time of the plague and has a superior attitude and is constantly reminding the reader that everyone else is clearly not as smart as he is. Which is probably why I didn't really care for Ish very much and soured my opinion of the story. For the majority of the story, Ish makes observations about the world after the plague. Stewart does have some ideas about what might happen to people, customs, skills, disease and education that I haven't seen in other books about the end of the world as we know it. So this is a plus on Stewarts part but the way he keeps having his main character ramble on repetitively dragged the story on. 

So if you love to read about the end of the world as we know it, then you should probably give this book a try. You might have an easier time forgiving Ish of his faults then I did.